Race to Dunbar 2017

66 boys and girls competed today in our Finals Day, Race to Dunbar. All the boys and girls qualified for this through our U18, U15 Boys and U18 Girls Scratch and handicap order of merits played throughout the Lothians in 2017. 

Many thanks to everyone at Dunbar GC for the hospitality shown on the day and to the members for giving up their course for the kids this afternoon. Special mention to Vice Captain Janette Main, Jacky Montgomery and John barbour for all their help in organising the event and for James Hughes in keeping us well fed.

The weather was kind to us this year with beautiful sunshine and with the course being in excellent condition all was set for some excellent scoring on a tough Open Qualifier course. The boys and girls did not disappoint.

Fantastic scoring buy both Conor Wilson (Castle Park) and Aidan O'Hagan ( Old Ranfurly) with 1 under par 70's, with Conor winning on the better inward half. In the handicap section pride of place goes to Adam Smith (Balfron) with a fantastic nett 66.

The results from today were as follows:


1. Conor Wilson ( Castle Park)    Score 70 (BIH)

2. Aidan O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly)   Score 70

3. Ross Callan (Bathgate)     Score 71

4. Cameron Adam ( Royal Burgess)    Score 72

5. Porscha Wilson ( Burntisland)        All score 74

Nathan McCulloch ( Kingsknowe)

Ruben Lindsay ( Ayr Belleisle)

Ross Flanagan (Bathgate)

Malachy Hayward ( Swanston New )



1. Adam Smith  (Balfron)          Score 66

2. William Ladbrooke  (Gullane)     All Score 68

Valdemar Hundeboll (North Berwick)

Samantha MacGregor ( Brommieknowe)

Abby Steedman (Murrayfield) 

Well done to all the players who competed in 2017 in all the Order of Merit events, it was great to see so many children competing throughout the year.

Many thanks to all the children and parents for staying behind for the presentation it is great to see such enthusiasm.

We look forward to seeing you all again in 2018.

Published: 08/10/2017