Stuart Hutchison Trophy

Stuart Hutchison Trophy

We held the Stuart Hutchison Trophy at Swanston golf club today.

This event is for the lowest scratch score for boys and girls on the day. The event is in memory of Stuart Hutchison who was an assistant Professional at Swanston but who tragically died in a car accident in 2009. Stuart was passionate about kids golf and his family kindly donated the trophies for the event. The Hutchison family have been great supporters of the Foundation and through fund raising events in 2013, kindly handed a cheque for £600 over to Stephen at the presentation. This is money that will be well used for the benefit of all children in golf.

Today we had a record number of 110 children taking part, many thanks to all the volunteers on the day and special mention to Edinburgh Golf, Golphin for Kids, Midlothian Ladies, Swanston Golf Club and Swanston's own Oliver Morton for all their help on the day.

We were fortunate that Stephen was able to make the day from his busy schedule and all the children enjoyed Stephen starting them off and giving them some tips on the day.

The scoring on the day, was excellent, as usual. Special mention to Aidan O Hagan (Under 10) who won the Boys Stuart Hutchison Trophy with an excellent 1 under par 26. In the girls section Megan Linton retained her title from 2013 with an excellent score of 37 to win on a countback from Grace Crawford (age 7).

The winners on the day were as follows:


Aidan O'Hagan      Score 26


Megan Linton      Score 37  (on countback)

Under 14 Boys Stroke Play

1. Cameron Johnstone     Score 29

2. Aamar Saleem        Score 30

3. Archie Hamilton    Score 31 (on countback)

Under 16 Girls Stroke Play

1. Grace Crawford     Score 37

2. Katie Liddle      Score 38

3. Samantha MacGregor    Score 39

Under 10 Boys Stroke Play

1. Ruben Lindsay    Score 29

2. Andrew Hendry    Score 34

3. Owen Abu Baker    Score 35

Under 14 Boys Flag Event

1. Bjorn Sandin        Score 31

2. Lewis Docherty     Score 34

3. Connor Thow   Score 35

Under 16 Girls Flag Event

1.Jessica Thain and Carys Irvine     Score 36

2. Orla O'Leary

3. Natalie Fowler

Under 10 Boys Flag Event

1. Drew Cleaver

2. Josh Beveridge

Under 10 Girls Flag Event

1. Rachel Gourlay        Score 34

2. Abby Steedman

3. Annabel Thain

Under 8 Boys Flag Event

1. Jack Collingswood

2. Hayden Fowler

3.Rory Leishman

Congratulations to all the boys and girls fro competing today was great to see you all have so much fun.

Many thanks to all the parents and children who stayed behind for the presentation, it really makes it special for all the winners at the end.

Our next event takes place at Gogarburn Golf Club, I look forward to seeing you all there.

All photographs from today cna be found on our facebook page Stephen Gallacher Foundation.

Published: 27/04/2014