On a very, very hot day at Gogarburn GC we held our final round for the U12 and U10 Championships. The kids did exceptionally well, in some extreme heat that they are not use to playing golf in, reaching 30c at one time.

The course yet again, was in excellent condition and many thanks to Moira Brown and all the staff and volunteers at Gogarburn for their help over the last 3 days, you really do make the event special for all the children and I can assure you we will be back again next year, as the course is an ideal length for the children with just the right degree of difficulty.

On the day we also had our Ambassador and the New Scottish Boys Champion Ruben Lindsay with us, Ruben did the starting and prize giving for us and gave the kids some tips before they started, many thanks Ruben for giving up your time during your busy schedule.

In the Under 10 Open Championship Fraser Walters set the pace, with a fantastic 12 shot win from 2nd place Ryan Killorn, with Ben Wilson taking 3rd place. Fantastic golf by Fraser over the 3 days and he has another year left in this section.

In the Under 12 Open Championship things were a lot closer with Cameron Mukherjee taking the title by one shot from Kiron Gribble and 3 from Blair Roberts, both players tried to close down the lead on Cameron during the round but could not quite get close enough. Scores though of 48 from Cameron and 47 from both Kiron and Blair should they could handle the pressure. Also with Cameron and Kiron back next year I am sure the rivalry will grow.

All the boys and girls throughout the 3 days have been fantastic, there happy smiling faces as they play golf was a pleasure to watch. Many thanks also to all the parents for being there with them, it really did make a family event. Also many thanks to everyone who stayed behind for the presentation of prizes, it really does make it a special moment when you collect a trophy in front of your peers.

The full list of prize winners on the day are:


  1. Cameron Mukherjee             144
  2. Kiron Gribble                       145
  3. Blair Roberts                        147
  4. Joseph Kelly                         156
  5. Hayden Fowler                     157
  1. Fraser Walters                      157
  2. Ryan Killorn                          169
  3. Ben Wilson                           177
LAST DAY PRIZES (lowest score outwith main prize winners)
Under 12 Carla Morris                 55
Under 11 Oliver Henderson          55
Under 10 Cameron Arnold           61
Under 9   Matthew Ennis             61
That is it all over for this event, we look forward to doing this all again next year.