European Tour

European Tour

The European Tour is committed to celebrating the game of golf, from the origins of the professional game building a proud history of achievement, sportsmanship and integrity to showcasing our diverse global talent and rich landscapes. The European Tour's innovative approach enables us to embrace the world, combining championships of tradition with new tournaments in the cities and countries of the future.

A new, exhilarating era in world golf was launched on November 6, 2008, when The Race to Dubai – a season long competition on The European Tour International Schedule – began with the first shot hit at the HSBC Champions tournament in Shanghai, China.

The inaugural Race to Dubai culminated with the Dubai World Championship on the Greg Norman-designed Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates, Dubai, UAE, when England's Lee Westwood triumphed to become European Number One. The inaugural Race to Dubai included 51 tournaments in 27 destinations and involved players from no fewer than 40 countries.

The start of the 2009 season also heralded The European Tour’s new corporate identity.

The new European Tour logo style, which has also been adopted by the European Senior Tour and European Challenge Tour, evolved following a research project conducted across a wide-range of interested parties.

Harry Vardon, who many consider as the first truly international touring professional golfer, was chosen as the iconic figure represented within the new logo. The Harry Vardon Trophy, first presented in 1937, will continue to be awarded to the winner of The European Tour Order of Merit. 

Another element of the new corporate identity is a world skyline graphic, representing the cities and countries visited on The European Tour International Schedule that form such an important part of The Race to Dubai. They also represent the diversity of The European Tour Membership - 47 nationalities - and the global nature of The Race to Dubai with 27 destinations hosting tournaments en route to the Dubai World Championship.

A multi-lingual text background will also be used to compliment these messages and to further reflect the multi-cultural, international diversity which now makes up The European Tour Membership and its followers around the world.

The world-class playing standards established by Tour Members have led to numerous Major Championship victories and seven wins and one tie for Europe in the last 12 Ryder Cups against the United States.

Tour Membership is coveted to the point that approximately 900 hopefuls enter for the Qualifying School each year knowing that only the top 30 and ties can graduate.

The Tournament Committee, with overall responsibility for tournament policy and discipline, comprises: Thomas Björn (Chairman) (Den), Paul Casey (Eng), Darren Clarke (N.Ire), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño (Esp), Richard Finch (Eng), Joakim Haeggman (Swe), David Howell (Eng), Raphaël Jacquelin (Fra), Miguel Angel Jiménez (Esp), Robert Karlsson (Swe), Barry Lane (Eng), Paul Lawrie MBE (Scot), Paul McGinley (Ire), Colin Montgomerie OBE (Scot), and Henrik Stenson (Swe).